top of page
Math Notebook and Calculator

TUTOR LIST

While we don't provide any tutoring services ourselves, we do maintain a list of our members who offer private tutoring in mathematics and statistics.  Tutors are listed in alphabetical order by last name, so please take the time to browse our list to find someone most suitable for your needs.

 

If you'd like to be included in the tutor list, please complete the request form below.

If you'd like to update/delete your details currently on the tutor list, please email mu-ms@unimelb.edu.au.

Note:

  • Asking tutors for assistance on assignments is a breach of academic conduct and is highly discouraged.

  • Being listed on MUMS tutor list does not necessarily mean that we endorse the tutors. Any negotiation would be between the tutor and the student (or their parent/guardian), not MUMS. 

  • Please take responsibility in ensuring any tutor you hire holds a valid Working With Children Check if the student is under 18.

ISOBEL ABELL

Contact: iabell@student.unimelb.edu.au; ‭0407 179 126

Delivery: Virtually; In-person (On campus or state library)

Rate: $60 per hour

 

Hi, I’m a PhD student in the Maths and Stats department focusing on infectious disease modelling. I completed my Bachelor of Science (majoring in mathematical physics) and a Diploma in Music in 2019, and my Master of Science - Mathematics and Statistics (specialising in mathematical biology) in 2022. I have done private and college tutoring for ~ 4 years covering both high school and undergraduate subjects.

GYPSY AKHYAR

Contact: gypsyakh@gmail.com; ‭+33 7 44 12 15 46‬

Delivery: Virtually

Rate: $50–75 per hour

 

Hey - I'm Gypsy!
I am a recent graduate of the Bachelor of Science in Mathematics and Statistics with a specialisation in Pure Mathematics. After that, I also did a Graduate Diploma of Arts with a major in Philosophy! I am now living in Paris, France.
I have been tutoring students for the past four years with Janet Clarke Hall and St. Hildas College (colleges at the University of Melbourne), and have experience teaching one-on-one, group classes and giving lectures (to over 1000 students).

LOUIE BERNHARDT

Contact: lbernhardt@student.unimelb.edu.au; 0475 906 716

Delivery: Virtually; In-person (on campus)

Rate: $45 per hour

 

I am an MPhil student (research masters) at the University of Melbourne. I was a department tutor at the University of Otago (New Zealand) for two years, as well as a private tutor for three years for both university and high school students. Extensive experience tutoring pure maths courses at all levels, particularly in analysis. Completed my Bachelor of Science with a 9.0 WAM, and was first class Honours in mathematics.

JACOB EGWUNYE

Contact: jb.egwunye@gmail.com; 0421 652 567
Delivery: Virtually; In-person (State Library of Victoria, etc.)
Rate: Hig
h school: $50/hour; Uni: $75/hour
 

High school tutor since 2007; University sessional tutor (MAST10010, MAST10011, MAST10016, MAST90007, MAST90044, UNIB10006) since 2010. Also, currently a volunteer tutor of high school students with the Sudanese-Australian Integrated Learning (SAIL) program in Dandenong (www.sailprogram.org.au), Afri Aus Care in Springvale South (afri-auscare.org), the Institute of Enquiring Minds (www.enquiringminds.org), and a youth mentor with the Raise Foundation (raise.org.au). Holds a current working with children check (1700383A).

ALEX FAN

Contact: alexfanqi@hotmail.com; 0416 722 159.
Delivery: Virtually; In person (unimelb campus; any library in city; eastern suburbs, preferably close to tram or train station).
Rate: $40/hour

 

I completed B-Sci with Electrical system and currently am doing master of electrical engineering. Always curious about why Asian kids are so good at math? I will disclose the secret to you and hold your hand through the method of being successful in math rather than merely passing the exam. Plus, I offer our first session free of charge for trial.

JOEL GILL

Contact: joel.j.gill2603@gmail.com; 0431 029 047

Delivery: Virtually; In-person (Either at my place or at the student's house or a library)

Rate: $50 per hour

I have been tutoring high school (years 10 - VCE) and university level maths for over 12 years. I obtained a BSc (Mathematical Physics) in 2012, and an MSc (Mathematical Physics) in 2014. I am currently studying a Bachelor of Pharmacy/Master of Pharmacy at Monash University in Parkville.

I am free from 4pm on Monday and Tuesday, all day Wednesday, and from 7pm Monday and Friday. I can also tutor on Weekends. I would prefer to tutor over Zoom, but am willing to tutor in person.

UDIT GOEL

Contact: udit.goel33@gmail.com; 0421 485 441.
Delivery: Virtually; In person (Near Melbourne City).
Rate: $50/hour

I am a graduate with Master In Data Science from the Unimelb and I have been a tutor at the university for the past one year and I have tutored subjects MAST20006 and MAST10011. I have experience tutoring online and offline and I am skilled in programming languages such as R and Python.

DANIEL GREENHAM

Contact: dan@dgtutor.com.au; 0416618003
Delivery: Virtually; In-person (Bayside area near public transport or CBD)
Rate: $60/hr

 

Completed VCE in 2021 with 99.95 ATAR so very familiar with current study design and what examiners are looking for.

ALEX HUANG

Contact: alexyinhanhuang@gmail.com; 0450 139 587
Delivery: Virtually; In-person (City, Unimelb Campus, South Eastern Suburbs)
Rate: $45/hour online, $60/hour in person

 

I am studying a Bachelor of Science majoring in Mathematics and Statistics. I offer tutoring aimed at helping you achieve success through genuine understanding and mastery of mathematics. Currently coaching olympiad maths at Caulfield Grammar School, and have extensive private tuition experience in high school and university level maths.

TOMMY LE

Contact: tommyle48@hotmail.com; 0414 051 716
Delivery: Virtually; In person (Library in the city, or anywhere in western suburbs)
Rate: $50/hour


Recent Chemistry graduate with a minor in mathematics at UniMelb. I have a few years of tutoring VCE and university students.

CHENGYU LI

Contact: chengyuli@pku.edu.cn; 008618911342228
Delivery: Virtually
Rate: $70/hour


Graduated from Peking University for my bachelor and master degree, with scholarship. Was top 1 in Sichuan Province (where more than 500,000 high school students graduate every year). Now a PhD candidate in Unimelb.

AHSAN MAQBOOL

Contact: Ahsanmaqbool144@gmail.com; 0433 803 153
Delivery: Virtually; In person (City, Parkville Campus, State Library
)
Rate: $4
0/hour


Recent VCE Graduate with 40+ Study Scores for VCE Maths Subjects, currently averaging H1 WAM for Unimelb maths subjects. Pursuing a Bachelors of Science in Mathematics and Computer Science, with extensive knowledge of teaching practices. Experienced tutor with a flexible schedule.

NICOLE ROSA

Contact: nicki@totalmath.net; 719 320 5552
Delivery: Virtually
Rate: $40/hour


Over 30 years experience tutoring all levels of Math.

KATE SAUNDERS

Contact: ksaunders2@unimelb.edu.au.
Delivery: Virtually; In person (On campus).
Rate: $60/hour


I have been tutoring at the University for the last 2 years, and have taught Linear Algebra, Statistics and Group Theory and Linear Algebra. I also have extensive private tutoring experience, both at University and High School level.

STUART SUTTON

Contact: contact@suttoned.com; +61 450 850 505
Delivery: Virtually; In person (Unimelb/cbd).
Rate: $50/hour

 

Graduated with h1 and 3000+ hours of tutoring experience

SOON WEI TAN

Contact: soonwei77@gmail.com; +852-52136322
Delivery: Virtually
Rate: Year 12 or below $35/hr; Undergrad $50/hr

 

Hi! I'm a 2nd-year Actuarial Science major student. I'm a Olympiad math lover, with my most notable being the prize winner for the Australian Mathematics Competition and more. I'm also an elite club-level chess player. Now, I also have a first-class honours WAM, with 90+ for my MAST subjects. Prior to that, I got a 4A* A-Levels, including Math, Further Math. I have been tutoring for over a year. I can speak fluently in English, Cantonese, Mandarin and Malay.

DANIEL UTEDA

Contact: danieluteda@gmail.com; 0415 710 217.
Delivery: Virtually; In person (On campus or in city).
Rate: $65/hour

 

Currently doing my Phd specialising in continuous optimisation at Melbourne uni. I have a few years worth of experience as a private high school tutor, now looking to tutor some uni subjects.

bottom of page